Diputación Foral de Guipúzcoa
July 14, 2024

The Auxiliary Navy of the Basque Country

The full list of auxiliary navies:

Sea Forces of the Indonesian Republic, 1945-49
Sea Forces of the Indonesian Republic, 1945-49
Badan Keamanan Rakyat-Laut=BKR-Laut/Tentara Keamanan Rakyat-Laut=TKR-Laut/Tentara Laut Republik Indonesia=TLRI or Angkatan Laut Republik Indonesia=ALRI

The Indonesian Navy was established on 22 August, 1945 following the Indonesian Proclamation of Independence. It was formed as the Agency of the People’s Security-Sea Service (BKR-Laut), with only wooden ships, a few landing craft and weapons left by Japan. Following the establishment of the Indonesian Armed Forces in October 1945, the BKR became known as the People’s Security Army-Sea Service (TKR-Laut), but changed name in January 1946 to the Sea Army of the Indonesian Republic (TLRI), and to the Sea Forces of the Indonesian Republic (ALRI) on 24 July. The first commander was Rear Admiral Atmaji, succeeded by Captain (later Rear Admiral) Subiyakto in 1948.

During the war of independence against the Dutch (1945–1949), the ALRI managed to conduct sea expeditions to various areas outside Java to establish naval and marine forces, to expand support for the republic to the outer islands and to increase support among other countries by breaking a naval blockade to obtain weapons, ammunition and medical supplies. These naval operations succeeded in encouraging resistance and establishing armed forces in Sumatra, Bali, Kalimantan and South Sulawesi. With the recognition of Indonesian sovereignty by the Dutch in November 1949, the ALRI was transformed into a modern navy with the delivery of former Dutch Navy ships, including corvettes and destroyers.

Patrullero-indonesio-en-Cirebon.jpg Patrullero-indonesio-GADJAH-MADA-1946.jpg

Back to navies list