Diputación Foral de Guipúzcoa
July 14, 2024

The Auxiliary Navy of the Basque Country

The full list of auxiliary navies:

Ezo Republican Navy, 1868-69
Ezo Republican Navy, 1868-69
Ezo Kyowakoku Kaigun

Most of the Japanese Navy, led by Admiral Enomoto, mutinied at Edo Bay on 20 August, 1868 and went over to the North. After taking the island of Yezo in December, Enomoto proclaimed the Republic of Ezo on 15 December, with Arai Ikunosuke as Navy Minister and Commander of the Fleet. The Navy of the Republic consisted of four gunboats (Kaiten, Banryu, Takao, Chiyoda) and three transports (Chogei, Oe Maru, Hou-Ou Maru). In May 1869 the Imperial Japanese Army and Navy attacked the Republic, which surrendered on 27 June. All ships were lost in the May-June campaign.

Combate-naval-de-Hakodate-(1869).jpg Takeaki-Enomoto.jpg

Back to navies list